Sunday, July 1, 2012

Pay Day for Men's Basketball Teams in the OVC

It was payday in the OVC today. Every basketball team got paid. If you were looking for a hefty paycheck, you better of had a great season. Otherwise, you were looking at a measly paycheck this year. But it's all smiles in Racer Nation, pay day feels dandy.

This spring, the OVC decided that annually $500,000  were going to be distributed to the OVC Men's basketball teams. Take a guess at who got the most today? Yes, Murray State got the most. Our friends at SIU-Edwardsville were not so lucky as you would be on welfare if you made that much in a year. They got less money than UT-Martin.

Money is given out when schools meet one or more of the six criteria: 
- Overall RPI
- Improvement in RPI (three-year rolling average)
- Increase in Division I wins from the previous year (three-year rolling average)
- Division I non-conference wins (three-year rolling average)
- OVC tournament or regular season championships in the last four years
- 40% of non-conference games being played at home or neutral sites
School Earnings:
- Murray State $106,214
- Tennessee State $70,874
- Tennessee Tech $64,657
- Morehead State $47,536
- SE Missouri State $43,211
- Jacksonville State $37,710
- Eastern Kentucky $35,269
- Austin Peay $28,703
- Eastern Illinois $21,047
- UT Martin $15,735
- SIU-Edwardsville $13,037

So does this mean only the strongest will survive? Not necessarily. I have a gut feeling that UT Martin and SIU-Edwardsville will get quite a bit of money next year. They had horrendous seasons and you get money for improving each year. If they somehow get worse, I would suggest dismantling their basketball programs.

On the other hand, Murray State will likely take a pay cut next year. The Racers will have to have a second straight dream season. Of course it could happen. We never know. It's best to keep on dreaming or at least I will. I want the Racers to strive for perfection. In the meantime we should just enjoy payday for now. We will likely be in the middle of the pack next year.

No comments:

Post a Comment